2021-a-Day in 2022

The thing with starting a blog that’s linked to a year, is what do you do when that year is over? Well, the first thing you do is take a bit of a break. With that break behind me, I’ve been thinking of ways that I can continue this site to some degree, without the daily obligation to post that clearly got away from me last year.

I still enjoy sharing new and new-to-me music and talking about indie bands that you may have missed. On my own time, I keep playlists of the new things I’m discovering and so my goal for the next little while is to share those here. To get started, I’ll do a couple of catch-up posts for the lists that I created already for 2022, with the aim to be on track by the end of March.

These are Spotify lists, which frankly are great for discovery but if you want to support the artists, check them out on Bandcamp or via their own websites.

January 2022 Playlist

Highlights from January’s list include:

  • Heartbreaker from Helsinki pop-punker’s Teini-Pää off of their new album Maailma kyllä odottaa (The World is Waiting… or so Google Translate tells me). Teini-Pää were featured in the original 2021-a-Day playlist and here on the blog back in February 2021.
  • TOO-ZOOMA from New Zealand’s Asta Rangu another 2021-a-Day fave
  • The French Tips, a self-described Boise based dance punk trio