February 2022

Playing catch-up on my 2022 Indie music playlists, while I think about new names for this blog site. As I mentioned in my last post, 2021-a-Day has wrapped but I’m using this space to continue to share new music through monthly playlists. I missed the first two months of the year, and before March rolls around and I get even more behind, here are some things I discovered and enjoyed in February.

Playlist Highlights

  • Am I Okay? from Pinch Points: 2021 was all about me discovering Australian indie, so no surprise that early into 2022, I’m already excited about a new-to-me Melbourne band. This single dropped in February but a full album came out this month. “Nothing is normal — but PINCH POINTS are here.”
  • A Real Thing by The Beths: The Beths!! Back in August or September, I bought a ticket to see the Beths in Montreal in January (or maybe it was supposed to have been February). Then Omicron hit Canada and things got shut down and this show got cancelled. This track was a wonderful consolation prize that I’ve been listening to on repeat (and so should you).
  • Restless by Artsick: How did I not know about Artsick until now!?! Fuzzy, DIY punk, this California trio reminds me of one of my 2021-a-Day bands Ribbon Stage. This single and the album it came from dropped in January, but it’s still a great time to discover it!

There’s so much goodness on this list and too little time to mention all the awesome bands here. Check out the full list on Spotify and then do a search on Bandcamp for your faves and support great indie bands!